All Accomplishments

Totem Cirque du Soleil

Decors, Mechanics, Stages

The project’s story

Totem retraces the fascinating journey of the human species from its original amphibian state to its ultimate desire to fly. The characters evolve on a stage that looks like a giant turtle, the symbol of origin for several ancient civilizations. Inspired by the founding principles, Totem illustrates the evolution of our species through a visual and acrobatic language.

Totem

Our contribution

The turtle shell

The huge turtle shell served both as a decorative element and acrobatic equipment. Following the opening number, the skeleton must be raised above the scene. We thus designed a structure that could support the acrobats, but also adapt to the transport constraints of touring.

A multi-level stage

Several elements of the stage needed to communicate with one another. The Marsh located at the back serves as the entrance for performers and a projection surface. The Marsh connects to the Scorpion bridge, which serves as a moving platform linking the marsh to the centre stage.

The Scorpion

Depending on the scene, the Scorpion bridge can take on different forms, such as decor, a boat for the clowns and a Totem. Its eight hydraulic cylinders allow it to rise, descend, extend, retract and curl in on itself like a scorpion’s tail. During the show, an operator using four infrared cameras monitors it.

Telescopic legs

The musicians’ platform, located 10 feet off the ground, required a low maintenance system to raise the platform in a secure manner. We designed a telescopic leg that is manually operated. The platform’s structure, panels and fall protection can be set up on the legs at work height and then raised in place with technicians operating the legs while standing on the ground.

Safety first

We created with a new way to set up the different stage levels while maintaining their “no tools” OST system and the safety of Cirque du Soleil employees during assembly and disassembly.

Structure

Structure

Marsh and stream structure.

Scorpion hydraulic component Totem by Cirque du Soleil

Scorpion hydraulic component Totem by Cirque du Soleil

Scorpion hydraulic component

Want to find out more about the technical elements of this project?

Download data sheet

All Accomplishments

Totem Cirque du Soleil

Scène, Mécaniques, Décors

L'histoire du projet

Totem retrace le merveilleux parcours de l’homme de son origine comme amphibien jusqu’à son désire ultime de voler. Les personnages évoluent sur une scène qui rappelle une tortue géante, symbole de l’origine pour plusieurs civilisations anciennes. Inspiré par les principes fondateurs, Totem illustre, à travers un langage visuel et acrobatique, l’évolution de notre espèce.

Totem

Notre contribution

Le squelette de tortue

L’énorme structure du squelette de tortue allait servir d’élément acrobatique et décoratif. Après le numéro d’entrée, le squelette devait s’élever au-dessus de la scène. Nous l’avons donc conçu pour qu’il puisse répondre aux charges acrobatiques, mais aussi pour s’adapter aux contraintes de transport imposées par la tournée.

Une scène à plusieurs niveaux

La scène devait permettre à plusieurs parties d’entre elles de communiquer. En arrière, le Marais allait servir d’entrée pour les artistes et de surface de projection pour ponctuer différents tableaux du spectacle. Au marais était connecté le fameux « pont Scorpion », qui allait servir de plateforme mobile jusqu’à la scène principale.

Le Scorpion

Selon la mise en scène, le pont scorpion allait prendre différentes formes que ce soit comme élément de décors, de bateau pour les clowns et de Totem. Grâce à huit cylindres hydrauliques, celui-ci pouvait monter, descendre, avancer, reculer et se retourner comme une queue de Scorpion. Celui-ci était contrôlé par automatisation via des caméras infrarouges.

Des pattes télescopiques

Les plateformes des musiciens à 10 pieds du sol avaient besoin d’un système d’élévation facile d’entretien et sécuritaire. Nous avons donc développé une patte télescopique à opération manuelle. Les plateformes avec leurs panneaux et leur protection contre les chutes peuvent être assemblées à hauteur d’homme et ensuite élevées par les opérateurs travaillant au sol.

La sécurité d’abord

Compte tenu des différentes hauteurs des parties de scène, nous avons conçu une nouvelle manière de monter les structures tout en conservant son système OST « sans outils » assurant ainsi la sécurité de tous les employés du Cirque du Soleil lors des montages et démontages.

Structure

Structure

Marsh and stream structure.

Scorpion hydraulique Totem par Cirque du Soleil

Scorpion hydraulique Totem par Cirque du Soleil

Scorpion hydraulique

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur les aspects techniques de ce projet?

Download data sheet