All Accomplishments

Luzia Cirque du Soleil

Others, Decors, Mechanics, Stages

THE PROJECT’S STORY

Cirque du Soleil’s big top production Luzia is « a wondrous world that inspires you to explore your senses, enveloped in light and nurtured by rain » getting its inspiration from the nature, modernity, surrealism and mythology of Mexico.  For Scène Éthique the Luzia project represented a major design and fabrication challenge since the scenography combined water elements with mechanical and hydraulic ones.

Luzia

Our Contribution

A very multi-functional stage

The Luzia stage is built with our patented OST system as is every big top stage for Cirque du Soleil. The particularity of this stage is that it integrates two turntables that revolve around a pool. Because of the water elements present in this show, the flooring and deck panels had to undergo special treatments.

Rain and Mythology

Each time a production integrates water elements, it becomes a major technical challenge. Luzia integrates a programmable rain curtain which is active during acrobat numbers as well as other numbers during the show. We had to design and integrate a pool in the center of the stage to recuperate and reuse the water coming down from the rain curtain. Since the artists are in direct contact with this water,  it must be heated and kept bacteria-free. We had to ensure that all components that came directly in contact with the water were corrosion resistant and could also sustain humid heat of 40 degrees Celsius (104 degrees Farenheit).

Here comes the sun

A towering disk representing the sun dominates the stage of Luzia throughout the entire show. To give the illusion that this 6,000 pounds structure floats like the actual sun in our sky, we designed the “cobra” a huge crane that looks like the snake when it rises to attack its enemies or preys. The cobra can be dismantled for transport and reassembled at the next location.

Luzia_disk studio

Luzia_disk studio

The disk suspended on the cobra in our studio.

Luzia_performance_disk

Luzia_performance_disk

The disk dominates the stage and appears to float like the sun in the sky.

Want to find out more about the technical elements of this project?

Download data sheet

All Accomplishments

Luzia Cirque du Soleil

Scène, Mécaniques, Décors, Autres

L'histoire du projet

Le spectacle sous chapiteau Luzia du Cirque du Soleil est « un monde de lumière où la pluie danse et vous cajole » tirant son inspiration de la nature, la modernité, le surréalisme et la mythologie du Mexique.  Pour Scène Éthique le projet Luzia représentait un défi de conception et de fabrication majeur car la scénographie demandait de combiner des éléments d’eau, de la mécanique et de l’hydraulique.

Luzia

Notre contribution

Une scène vraiment multi-fonctionnelle

La scène de Luzia est bâtie avec notre système OST breveté comme toutes les scènes des spectacles en chapiteau du Cirque. La particularité de cette scène est que nous y avons intégré deux plateaux tournants qui tournent autour d’une piscine. Dû aux éléments d’eau qui sont présents dans le spectacle, le revêtement et la surface du plancher de la scène ont subi un traitement spécial.

Pluie et mythologie

Chaque fois qu’un spectacle intègre des éléments d’eau, ça devient un défi technique majeur. Luzia intègre un rideau de pluie programmable actif pendant des numéros d’acrobatie et autres numéros durant le spectacle. Nous avons donc dû intégrer la piscine au centre de la scène pour récupérer et réutiliser l’eau. Comme les artistes sont en contact direct avec l’eau, cette dernière doit être chauffée et demeurer libre de toute bactérie. On doit donc s’assurer que les revêtements et toutes les composantes qui sont en contact avec l’eau résistent à la corrosion et à une chaleur humide de 40 degrés Celsius.

Soleil, soleil

Un immense disque représentant le soleil domine la scène de Luzia tout au long du spectacle. Pour donner l’illusion que cette structure de plus de 6,000 livres flotte comme l’astre du jour dans le ciel, nous avons conçu le « cobra », une grue démontable qui rappelle ce serpent lorsqu’il se dresse pour attaquer ses ennemis ou ses proies.

Luzia_disque studio

Luzia_disque studio

Le disque suspendu au cobra dans notre studio

Luzia_performance_disque

Luzia_performance_disque

Le disque domine la scène et paraît flotter comme le soleil dans le ciel

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur les aspects techniques de ce projet?

Download data sheet