All Accomplishments

Amaluna Cirque du Soleil

Decors, Mechanics, Stages

The project’s story

Amaluna invites the audience to a mysterious island governed by goddesses and guided by the cycles of the moon. The show honours femininity, renewal, balance and the passing of these values from one generation to the next. Inspired by the natural world, Scott Pask created a mysterious and verdant island featuring a carefully crafted forest of bamboo-like branches that surround the action on stage.

Amaluna

Our contribution

A mobile structure

The stage and its turntable allowed for dynamic interaction with the audience. We designed an axial layout for the turntable’s base structure and our OST system was used for the curved and straight elements of the entire set. The turntable and its periphery traps for the performers are operated from either above or below the stage.

Railings and stairs adapted to stage elements

To allow the performers to manually move an imposing 7,000 lb bowl of water towards the centre of the turntable so that they could perform their acts, we designed rolling tracks that would be safe and easy to use. We also created retractable stairs that provided the performers with access to the stage.

A solid and flexible forest

The Canopy, a forest made up of steel and aluminum tubes, presented several challenges: the branches had to support their own weight while meeting the structural standards and timeline imposed by the Cirque. As a result, the branches were designed in 3 to 6 sections that could be pieced together using mechanical seals developed especially for this production. The system also solved the issue of transport constraints.

Stage

Stage

Stage set up in the Cirque’s studio.

Canopy supports

Canopy supports

Canopy supports and pivot bases.

Want to find out more about the technical elements of this project?

Download data sheet

All Accomplishments

Amaluna Cirque du Soleil

Scène, Mécaniques, Décors

L’histoire du projet

Amaluna invite les spectateurs sur une mystérieuse île gouvernée par des déesses et les cycles de la lune. Ce spectacle met à l’honneur la féminité, le renouveau, l’équilibre et le passage de ces valeurs d’une génération à l’autre. S’inspirant de la nature, la scénographie de Scott Pask crée une île mystérieuse et verdoyante sur laquelle une forêt soigneusement élaborée avec des branches semblables à des bambous entoure l’action.

Amaluna

Notre contribution

Une structure mobile

La scène, avec sa table tournante, permet une relation dynamique avec les spectateurs. Nous avons conçu une structure axiale pour la structure de base de la table tournante. Notre système OST a été utilisé autant pour les poutres en courbe que pour les poutres droites du reste de la scène. La table tournante et sa périphérie ont des trappes d’accès pour les artistes qui sont opérées par-dessus ou par-dessous la scène.

Des rails et des escaliers adaptés aux éléments scéniques

Afin de permettre aux artistes de déplacer manuellement jusqu’au centre de la table tournante un imposant bol d’eau de 7000 lbs pour leurs numéros, nous avons conçu un système de rails sécuritaire et facile d’utilisation. Ont aussi été conçus, des escaliers rétractables mécaniques pour permettre aux artistes d’accéder à la scène.

Une forêt solide et flexible

Le Canopy, une forêt faite de tubes d’acier et d’aluminium, présentait de nombreux défis : les branches devaient pouvoir supporter leur propre poids tout en rencontrant es normes structurales et l’échéancier du Cirque. Ainsi, les branches ont été pensées en sections de 3 à 6 pièces s’emboîtant les unes dans les autres via des joints mécaniques développés spécialement pour cette application. Ce système permettait également de régler les contraintes au niveau du transport.

Vue aérienne de la scène

Vue aérienne de la scène

Montage de la scène dans le studio du Cirque du Soleil.

Supports des Canopy

Supports des Canopy

Gros plan sur la base des pivots supportant les Canopy.

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur les aspects techniques de ce projet?

Download data sheet